Anchored at Cocos Keeling, Indian Ocean, 2018

Sail-Inspired Songs

A Search for the Best Sailing Songs on the Planet

5 min readFeb 23, 2020

--

As a lover of all kinds of music and an aspiring musician, I am always trying to increase my repertoire of guitar-playable songs. I’ve often made searches for sailing or sailboat-inspired songs. Many of these songs are well known as sailing songs, but others are not. You may not even think of them as sailing or ocean songs until you listen closely to the words. Here are some of my favorite sailing songs.

1. Southern Cross: Crosby, Stills & Nash

There is no mistaking this for a sailing song. Crosby, Stills, & Nash write about sailing along the same passage I was on in 2017 as I circumnavigated the world on sailboats. I was sailing from Ecuador to Tahiti. When they sing this song I can see the Southern Cross in my mind because I…

--

--

Matt Ray

Top Writer in Travel, Photography, & Poetry. Recently circum-sailed around the world. Find all my Publications, Blogs, & Socials here: https://linktr.ee/mraymus